top of page
  • kairavianjaria231

WHAT SHOULD BE WILD By Julia Fine, Fiction Review.

Updated: Mar 17, 2021

A Dark Read With A Magical Twist.


Julia Fine's debut novel is quite a roller coaster ride. It take you high, it takes you low, somewhere in the middle you really want it to end but when it does you are left with a good kind of hangover of the read. Filled with magic, myths and folklore this book will leave you breathless.


The beginning of the book is stunningly refreshing and amazing to read where the lead character is Maisie Cothay, who grew inside her mother which you would think is normal but it isn't because her mother was dead.

They grew me inside of my mother, which was unusual, because she was dead.

She is born with dare I say magical talent of killing or resurrecting at her slightest touch, which is why she had never felt a human touch. she had spent all her childhood alone in her family’s manor at the edge of a mysterious forest where according to legend her female ancestors have also vanished into. Maisie’s father, Peter, is an anthropologist fascinated by the myths surrounding Laura’s bloodline if I put it simply peter is a control freak but he too disappears one day and she is left to take on a rescue mission into a magical forest with Matthew and I don't know why but I didn't seem to find a reason why Matthew, someone she met just minutes ago agrees to go on into this mission.


Through this journey into the forest, Julia Fine explores the womanhood and the female experience of coming of age. The ventures into the real world, where she must learn not only how to protect those around her from her strange gift, but how to protect herself from them was a new turn in Maisie's life and soon she goes on to discover the centuries-old mystery of her cursed bloodline, the secrets of the forest and the truth of her powers.


What bugs me the most is that somewhere in the middle Rafe, a rival for Maisie’s interest is introduced and for no damn reason she is infatuated with him. So when I wanted more on the lore of the forest I seemed to be getting a love triangle in which one of the guys is "the bad one" and not to be trusted which as a reader anyone can figure out but that doesn't seem to stop Maisie from getting entangled in him.


The other problematic thing I find is even though there was so much scope for exploration and execution the story ends with not so satisfyingly. It felt like Julia Fine strayed a little too far into the other side of the story and I would have liked to read more about why these women are in the wood, what’s up with Maisie’s weird power, and what happens to all of them. But even though it didn't really take the I wanted to it kept me gripped enough to get me to finish it.


The concept of this book was interesting enough for us to pick it up and read it all. I just wish I would have gotten characters that I could love, care about or even connect with. But other than that it is written amazingly it is dark, violent, and yet still so full of magic, wonder and beauty.


To be honest, I am double-minded about this book, I love it but I also find some problematic parts so I'll leave you to decide what you love and hate about this dark modern fairy tale- Julia Fine's What Could Be Wild.


 

Written By: Kairavi Anjaria.

70 views2 comments
bottom of page